Department of Defense

“It is better to hear the rebuke of the wise than for a man to hear the song of fools” Ecclesiastes 7:5

My kindergarten teacher used to love my poems. When I graduated to 1st grade and I decided to wow my new teacher with a funny poem. She returned the poem the next day with big red marks all over it. To her it was not funny, just silly. I was devastated. I did not write another poem for over 10 years.

In college I took a creative writing class and we read our creations to the whole class and everybody spoke up about what we liked or did not like and I hated it. It felt like somebody was punching me in the gut, I took it so personally.

Decades later I went to a literary critique group who slashed and diced every word and I found myself actually learning something. Because of that group my writing has improved greatly.

We need to get over ourselves. Sometimes it’s like we want a choir of fools to follow us around singing, “for he’s a jolly good fellow”. But it is better to hear the rebuke of a wise friend than a hundred people flattering and congratulating you. Heard all this before? Great? But how are you doing in the defensive department?

About accumike

Michael Edwards, with his wife, Shay, have been involved in various ministries such as leading Bible Studies and worship, teaching teens and pastoral counseling, since 1984. Currently they are ministering at Planned Parenthood in San Luis Obispo to girls and women going in for abortions, lovingly providing information and alternatives. Please pray to end abortion and for the cultural and spiritual conditions in our nation that advance it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Department of Defense

  1. Alan Icban says:

    If the person rebuking me is my wife or a younger brother of mine man oh man Mike forcefilled on, switch to battle formation, all the ideas, intelligence to justify myself on, anything that i can grub to cover myself I learned it the hard way I don’t know why I do that especially with my wife anyway I love her so much. But it is true just like a medicine so bitter in taste in eating and swallowing it but it will cure us from our sickness.God bless Mike.

Leave a Reply

