I Reckon

For He Himself has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.” So we may boldly say: “The LORD is my helper; I will not fear. What can man do to me?” Hebrews 13:5,6

Will our fear of abandonment negate this promise of God to be with us always? Yes, it will, at least on an emotional level. My feelings have often made light of God’s promise to never leave me; therefore I lived in fear, knowing in my heart that I certainly did not deserve such devotion on God’s part. I took my trials and chastening as proof of God’s departure.

Living in fear paralyzes those so inflicted. It is a miserable way to live. But how does one internalize this truth, that God will never abandon His children? Obviously, we must first be certain of our status as children of God. Without going into that process, let’s assume that we are now speaking only of those who have this promise, yet cannot seem to live in it.

Like most of God’s promises, the way to live a promise is to reckon it so. Reckoning is to be convinced in such a way that you are willing to skewer doubts as lies from hell, to interpret trials as training, to consider spiritual dryness as a temporary necessity, and to accept any brand of persecution as proof of God’s glory in you.

We often speak of love languages. Her love language is “quality time”; his love language is “having fun together”. What is God’s love language? How does one truly love God? So simple, but so profound and so liberating! Believe Him! Be secure in His devotion and love for you! Your sense of unworthiness should merely highlight the greatness of God’s condescension and love! You don’t deserve it? Does this not make His great love all the more astonishing and worthy of acceptance?

You were saved by grace through faith. Now be secure in His love by grace through that same faith.

About accumike

Michael Edwards, with his wife, Shay, have been involved in various ministries such as leading Bible Studies and worship, teaching teens and pastoral counseling, since 1984. Currently they are ministering at Planned Parenthood in San Luis Obispo to girls and women going in for abortions, lovingly providing information and alternatives. Please pray to end abortion and for the cultural and spiritual conditions in our nation that advance it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Reckon

  1. Alan Icban says:

    God’s love never changes. He is the same yesterday, today and tomorrow. Through all of my Christian walk with God I’ve noticed that He was not only walking beside me but He is in me. He never did fail on His promises there are some promises made by Him to me that I already forgot and then He’ll fullfill it in his perfect timing then I’ll just be amazed and overwhelm by his love when He remind me about that promise inspite and despite of my life and walk with Him. I reckon everything that is happening in my life as a molding process to what God’s want me to be. “It is not who I was but what I become or my identity in Him that’s how mercy saw me”. God bless brother.

  2. accumike says:

    Great comment Alan. We are rarely on the same page with God. When He is on our left we look right and when He is on our right we look left. But, like you said, God has a higher purpose than ours and works in the background throughout our entire life shaping us ever more into the image of Christ.

Leave a Reply

