Another Contender for a Guinness World Record

Then Job answered the LORD, and said, “I know that you can do everything…” Job 42:1,2

Nobody ever received a chewing out like Job. Job complained bitterly about his painful circumstances to his less than helpful friends, who accused Job of pride, vanity, hypocrisy, deceit and bribery, among other things. They also made it clear that only a wicked man, full of iniquity, would experience the sufferings of Job. Now, add to that God’s tongue lashing and we have the makings of a Guinness world record for the most berated man in history.

Job, where were you when I laid the foundations of the earth? Hmm? Job, do you understand the ordinances of heaven? Can you create lightening? Did you create the wings of the peacock? Did you give horses their strength? God asked Job over 60 questions demonstrating His power, His presence and His knowledge.

The application I usually took away from this was God does not have to explain Himself. He knows what He is doing. He is God and I am not and neither are you.

But then it occurred to me last night as I read God’s words to Job: (Let me paraphrase here) ‘Job, I command the constellations and control the beasts of the earth from the greatest to the dumbest (Ostrich comes to mind). I am intimately acquainted with everything that happens in nature and in the affairs of men. (Now, for poetic license) Yes, you have encountered trouble in your life of late and yes, much of what you complained about was valid—except for the part where you doubted My justice—but remember who I am and what I am capable of. If I am all powerful, all present and all knowing, surely I am capable of restoring your soul, no matter how wounded or tormented.

When God trumpets His attributes, it is not to boast, not to intimidate and not to defend Himself, but to bring comfort. Justice will prevail, goodness will triumph, mercy will rejoice and truth will be trumpeted in God’s perfect time and in God’s perfect way. In the meantime my task is to learn to trust Him “though He slay me.” Job 13:15.

About accumike

Michael Edwards, with his wife, Shay, have been involved in various ministries such as leading Bible Studies and worship, teaching teens and pastoral counseling, since 1984. Currently they are ministering at Planned Parenthood in San Luis Obispo to girls and women going in for abortions, lovingly providing information and alternatives. Please pray to end abortion and for the cultural and spiritual conditions in our nation that advance it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Another Contender for a Guinness World Record

  1. Barbara says:

    Seems like a broader separation is taking place between groups of people. The ones that are suffering and the people who are berating the sufferers…if they aren’t contributing to the pain in the first place.

  2. accumike says:

    Hmm, may we never be used overtly to berate others, no matter how much we want to.

  3. Alan Icban says:

    God is sovereign, He is in control of everything, He knows everything and all things that is happening whichever or whatever it is all in perfect harmony of His plan if it is not perfect then God is not sovereign. You feeling me brother? During my times of trials or I say chaos if the peace I have is because I planned and made it is not God’s because I can explain and I knew it but God’s peace I can’t explain it and I don’t understand it but I feel it and all I can do is enjoy it. You feel me bro. God bless love you bro.

Leave a Reply

