First Prayer of the Day

Oh God, You placed upon Christ the Holy Spirit without measure. I am not presumptuous to ask that I now be so like Christ; for this You have reserved a Day. I do ask that this very hour every truth You have shown me about the power of the Holy Spirit would be granted me. Let me live for your purpose with a loyal heart; grant me power over temptation, taking every thought captive, treating every temptation as an opportunity to worship You and to rejoice with You for Your excellent provision, which by faith I now receive as an accomplished fact rather than a future event. Let me trust in Your promises to produce the fruits of righteousness pertaining to Your will; help me remember when attempting to serve that I can do nothing apart from You; nevertheless, it is Your will that I produce the fruit that remains; therefore let every endeavor be saturated in prayer and trust for the increase that only You can and will provide. Grant me the fearlessness that takes no thought of slights or wrongs or trying, vexing circumstance, viewing all such as necessary injuries to my bloated self love and pride. Lord, when I fail, and no matter how far I fall, grant me that galling, daring, thrilling faith that hopes for what I do not deserve, so that as I am rescued from every dilemma, I will abound in the grace that not only delivers but wholly delivers.
Grant these powers to me, oh Lord, though I do not deserve them, because such is Your promise to those who ask. Grant these unearned graces, though they are mere reflections of Your own dear Presence and Glory, for You are not a principle but the Person of persons, the author of intimacy. Thus it is You I seek, not merely the graces, but the peace derived by Your acceptance, the warmth of Your love and even humor, and the passion of Your driving interests. Yes, I receive all that You are able to reveal in me without my ruin. Grant it oh Lord, most precious and beloved, most Holy and fearsome, most gentle and kind, and so I will, and so I must, adore You forever! Praise the Lord!

About accumike

Michael Edwards, with his wife, Shay, have been involved in various ministries such as leading Bible Studies and worship, teaching teens and pastoral counseling, since 1984. Currently they are ministering at Planned Parenthood in San Luis Obispo to girls and women going in for abortions, lovingly providing information and alternatives. Please pray to end abortion and for the cultural and spiritual conditions in our nation that advance it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to First Prayer of the Day

  1. Shay says:

    I happen to know the author of this prayer. He is a person who has been crushed and broken by life circumstances throughout his years. Does he always apply the words of this prayer to his life? Of course not…not all the time. He is a human being, similar to all of us. But my respect for him is more than I have for any man, because I know the difficulties he has had to endure. I’m aware of the searing emotional pain he experiences that most people are oblivious of. Yet in spite of that… he comes back. Always, like King David who “messed up” so often… eventually returns to the words of this prayer that he wrote. And yes… they are true words that he truly applies to his life.

  2. Alan Icban says:

    How wonderful it is that I can talk to the Supreme Being creator of all things anytime, anywhere no appts needed. And that i can just express all that I feel that i dont have to explain my background, how i was brought up, my culture and my incapability to use the right word in order for Him to truly understand me because before the word comes out of my mouth He already knew it PRAISE THE LORD!!!!!! That’s what i felt from this post my brother. Love you man.

  3. accumike says:

    Yes, praise God! Thank You Jesus! My righteousness adds nothing to Him; my wickedness takes nothing away from Him. He is impartial to fools and to those regarded as wise. His plans for us are beyond our comprehension, past our ability to perceive. They are macro, not tiny or nit picky. He corrects us when the course of our life is headed for ruin, but is so slow to anger and ready to forgive. Praise the Lord for granting us knowledge of God and the Lord, Jesus Christ!

Leave a Reply

