Perfect Storms

“Trust the Lord with all your heart and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him and He shall make your paths straight.” Proverbs 3:5,6

Straight? The storms of life blow me around like dust! My paths have been crooked most of my life! Apparently, if I am called according to His purpose (Romans 8:28), what seems crooked to me, from God’s perspective, is straight to where He wants me to go.

Life has many peaks of joy and valleys of despair. The challenge of the Christian walk is to build bridges of belief over the inevitable chasms of depression, fear, loneliness or despair, based upon God’s faithfulness to the promises of His word. We are told:

“Rest in the Lord, wait patiently for Him.” Psalm 37:4-8

There are two ways to wait upon the Lord: patiently or impatiently. Sometimes I rest in the Lord and wait patiently for him; other times I become impatient, wallowing in the realm of fear and its sub-region, doubt. In this state I tend to take matters into my own hands, not really believing that God has a direct hand in my affairs. Here faith becomes academic, limited by my ability to force open doors, rather than waiting for doors to open. This is the “little faith” spoken of in scripture—but even a little faith can grow.

Little faith says, “I know God can meet my need for significance, intimacy, accomplishment, daily bread, etc., but He may or may not do these things for me.” Great faith says, “I know God can meet my needs, and I know He will do these things for me!”

There is a third type of faith that seems to be available to even those of us who have little faith: call it, “Perfect Faith.” Perfect faith does not say, “I know God can meet my needs,” but instead says, “My needs are already met. Thank you Jesus for Your wonderful promises and Your absolute faithfulness, performing all that You spoke in Your Word!” Little faith does not have far to travel to reach perfect faith. After all, when I am floundering and unable to deliver myself from miserable circumstances, it is much easier to simply surrender.

Little faith is a rickety bridge of pinewood planks over flames that lick the feet.
Great faith is a suspension bridge of oak over chasms of sorrow and pain.
Perfect faith is a titanium bridge, plated with pure gold, spanning mountain peaks of joy.

Perfect faith is the faith spoken of in Hebrews 11:1: “Faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.” The word translated substance here is: ὑπόστασις, hupostasis (hoop-os’-tas-is), meaning: a setting or placing under, a substructure or foundation—that which has foundation, is firm, and has actual existence.

Perfect faith happens when I place the full weight of my forward progress upon the invisible, but substantial, character of God, as I would a steel bridge.

God grant me perfect faith to match the perfect storms of life.

About accumike

Michael Edwards, with his wife, Shay, have been involved in various ministries such as leading Bible Studies and worship, teaching teens and pastoral counseling, since 1984. Currently they are ministering at Planned Parenthood in San Luis Obispo to girls and women going in for abortions, lovingly providing information and alternatives. Please pray to end abortion and for the cultural and spiritual conditions in our nation that advance it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Perfect Storms

  1. Tim Barrows says:

    Thanks for inviting me to your blog.. Very well put together! I read this early in the morning so my mind is still asleep ( : That is why there is no response to this at this time. You guys be blessed and you will hear back from me soon. Wait a minute… God had shown me a couple of days ago that faith is the “Only” thing that pleases God, and that is faith in His son Jesus and being then clothed with His righteousness. The Old Testament times God required faith in a different way, He required that they “believe Him on His word and it will be counted unto them as righteousness. Than He requires obedience over sacrifice. To obey God at His word= righteousness. Amazing stuff!!!

    • accumike says:

      Hey Tim, it is awesome to hear from you. Yes, God loves it when we express faith! You are right! The only righteousness we need is the righteousness we have in Christ. Just as Abraham believed and it was counted to him as righteousness, so when we believe in CHRIST we become the righteousness of God in Him.

  2. Alan Icban says:

    I am an impatient guy a now now now guy. And a lot of times ending up with migraine. If I would just wait, rest and allow God to work, that He is sovereign in control of everything that i just have to follow Him concentrate listening to His voice rather than the world’s noise oh man Mike my brother that peace that transcends all understanding, it’s chaos everywhere i do not know what is going on but somehow this peace of God helps me be firm and steady can not explain it! I can just enjoy it. Thanks for inviting me brother. God bless you.

  3. Maria Garcia says:

    My name is Maria. Alan introduce me to this website I am a christian became one 2 years ago at East Valley Baptist Church, its on Elliot and Mcqueen. I like the sermon that you put and I would like for you to please pray for my family bros and sis and I have a bro that is very ill his name is Jose Garcia and also a son in Afghan serving our country and another son that will be going soon and a daughter having marriage problems and I know by my faith in Jesus that God will take care of them all. I hope i hear from you soon Ptr. Mike. Thanks.

    • accumike says:

      Maria, I am praying that Jose will recover from his illness, but more importantly I am praying that Jose will draw close to God through this difficult time. I am also praying for your sons in the military. May they be a light in a dark place and may nothing extinguish that light. Dear Lord, please help Maria’s daughter’s marriage. Jesus be her comfort and teach her to rely on You for everything. Heal the wounds and open the doors of communication and love between her and her husband. Thank you that Maria knows You. Help her to be patient with Your plans. Help her to wait upon You with childlike trust in everything You allow. In the name of Jesus, amen.

      • Maria Garcia says:

        Thank you so much for the prayer. Hope I get to meet you I don’t know when and how but one thing I’m sure in heaven.

Leave a Reply

